The Cable Hut stands just above the sandy beach at Porthcurno. Built in 1929, this modest-looking building is where telegraph cables came ashore from all corners of the world.
The Cable Hut is the only one of its kind complete with original features and fittings, and contains the largest collection of historic telegraph cables and termination boxes in the world. Visitors can still see* the original cables which appear from under the floor and connect to a bank of terminals.
* Please note: due to the extremely delicate nature of the equipment in the Cable Hut we regret that it is not possible to open it in poor weather. Please check with Museum staff as to whether the Cable Hut has been opened.