From its construction in 1904 Eastern House was at the very heart of the telegraph station in Porthcurno – the largest and most important in the British Empire.
After the end of World War Two Eastern House was refurbished, extended and opened as a training school. In 1970, exactly 100 years after the arrival of the first cable, the telegraph station closed, but the training school remained until 1993.
Today Eastern House forms a major part of The Telegraph Museum, allowing visitors to explore the spaces occupied by early telegraphers. The workshop frequently buzzes with activity as our team of volunteers go about servicing and repairing the working equipment on display, happily stopping to answer questions and explain what they’re doing
Interactive exhibits and fascinating displays illustrate the technological and social significance of the communications revolution and the large gallery space also contains the demonstration zone. Here, staff describe the history of communications and demonstrate some of the original working equipment in regular talks throughout the day – ask a member of staff for timings.